As of January 1, 2020, when a patient (or their representative) submits a written allegation of sexual abuse or sexual misconduct to a health care entity, that entity must report the allegation to the appropriate state licensing agency (e.g., the Medical Board of California) within 15 days of receipt. (SB 425, codified at Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code Section 805.8) After making its way through the state legislature with little to no opposition from state lawmakers, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed this bill into law on October 12. The purpose of the bill was to not only accelerate the process in which state licensing boards receive notification about these serious allegations, but also to expand the types of entities that must report these events ...
Effective January 1, 2019, Health & Safety Code Sections 11161.5, 11162.1, and 11165 were amended to, among other things, provide that the Department of Justice implement a system by which prescription forms for controlled substance prescriptions should each have a uniquely serialized number."
The statutory amendments established the way in which the prescription forms must be printed, the various features that the prescription forms must include, and the way in which the dispenser of controlled substances must report the serial number to the Controlled Substance Utilization ...
In a decision affecting California hospitals, medical groups, medical staffs, and physicians, the California First District Court of Appeal has concluded that a physician’s notice and hearing rights apply to situations where a hospital directs a medical group of a closed department to remove a physician from the hospital schedule.
In Economy v. Sutter East Bay Hospitals, Sutter Hospital operated a closed anesthesia department pursuant to a contract with East Bay Anesthesiology Medical Group (East Bay Group). The exclusive contract required all physicians providing ...
In a decision that facilitates flexible staffing practices for healthcare employers, the California Supreme Court recently held that healthcare workers can legally waive a second meal period when they work shifts longer than 12 hours. Gerard v. Orange Coast Mem'l Med. Ctr., 430 P.3d 1226 (Cal. 2018). The high court’s decision finally and conclusively resolves a contentious and technical dispute over labor enactments that had been the subject of several prior appellate rulings. See our prior discussion re Gerard II here.
Plaintiff healthcare workers alleged that their hospital employer had violated California Labor Code section 512(a) by allowing waivers of second meal periods when they worked shifts longer than 12 hours.
Defendant employer argued that such waivers were expressly allowed by Section 11(D) of Industrial Welfare Commission Wage Order No. 5, which creates an exception allowing healthcare employees to voluntarily waive the second meal period on shifts over 12 hours. (Nothing in the Gerard case addressed the first meal period requirement, also set forth in section 512(a), which mandates a meal period of at least 30 minutes for an employee who works more than five hours per day.)
In Gerard, the high court resolved this conflict by affirming the validity of Wage Order No. 5 and holding that it did not violate the Labor Code. To reach that decision, the Court’s opinion wades through a morass of legislative and administrative provisions, as well as the prior appellate decision and an intervening statutory amendment. To reiterate, the core dispute was between, on the one hand, Labor Code section 512(a) which expressly allows voluntary waivers of second meal periods for employees who works shifts of 8 but no more than 12 hours and, on the other hand, Section 11(D) of Wage Order No. 5 which creates an express exception for healthcare employees that allows such waivers, even if the employee works more than 12 hours.
A new California law (AB 72) limits the amount that out-of-network surgeons and other health care professionals may bill patients for covered non-emergency services provided at a contracted facility, such as an ambulatory surgery center. California’s surprise medical bill law went into effect on July 1, 2017. It is intended to prevent a consumer from receiving an unexpected medical bill from a non-contracted provider as follows:
- A patient who is enrolled (Enrollee);
- In a health care service plan or health insurance policy (Plan);
- Receives health care services covered by the Plan;
- From an individual health professional (Professional);
- Who does not have a contract with the Plan; and
- Services are performed at (or as a result of) a contracted health facility (Facility).
In such circumstances, the Enrollee may be billed no more than the same cost-sharing amount that the Enrollee would pay a contracted Professional for the same service (in-network cost sharing amount). At the time of payment, the Plan must inform the Enrollee and the non-contracted Professional of the in-network cost-sharing amount owed by the Enrollee.
There may be no noticeable difference between a hospital patient occupying a bed as an inpatient or one in observation status. Yet, state and federal legislators have been concerned that the difference can have important consequences for the patient. Observation care is considered by Medicare to be an outpatient service. Patients classified as outpatients in the hospital may fail to achieve a three-day inpatient stay to qualify for subsequent Medicare coverage for skilled nursing facility care. Patients in observation status may also have higher co-payments and charges for doctors’ fees and hospital services, as well as drugs.
Federal Law. The Medicare Outpatient Observation Notice (MOON) was developed to inform all Medicare beneficiaries when they are receiving observation services and are not an inpatient of the hospital. The MOON is mandated by the Notice of Observation Treatment and Implication for Care Eligibility Act (NOTICE Act), enacted in 2015. All hospitals and critical access hospitals (CAHs) are required to provide the MOON beginning no later than March 8, 2017.
As the clock struck midnight on New Year’s Eve, a number of new California laws took effect. Here are three that California hospital executives need to know:
- Notice of Observation Status (SB 1076)
When a patient is being cared for in an inpatient unit of a hospital (or in an observation unit) the hospital must provide the patient with a written notice when the patient is in observation status. The notice must inform the patient that the observation care is being provided on an outpatient basis and that this may affect the patient’s health care coverage reimbursement. There are also ...
Our Health Law Ticker is a one-stop resource for everything new and noteworthy in healthcare law. We cover recent developments in healthcare legislation, healthcare reform, Medicare/Medicaid, managed care, litigation, regulatory compliance, HIPAA, privacy, peer review, medical staffs and general business operations for healthcare companies and licensed healthcare professionals.
Stay ConnectedRSS Feed
- Affordable Care Act
- Allied Health Professionals
- Ambulatory Surgery Centers
- Bipartisan Budget Act
- Civil Monetary Penalties
- Electronic Health Records
- Employment Law
- False Claims Act
- Fraud and Abuse
- Healthcare Litigation
- Healthcare Technology
- HIPAA's Minimum Necessary Rule
- Hospitals and Health Facilities
- Independent Practice Associations
- Medical Board
- Medical Groups
- Medical Staffs
- Pain Assessment and Managment
- Payment and Reimbursement
- Peer Review
- Physician Management Companies
- Professional Licensing
- Protected Health Information
- Public Policy
- Sexual Harassment
- State Law
- Workplace Harassment